Chewing Words

noun. verb. adjective. adverb…they're all tasty in my book

scrappy

with one comment

My daughter, at 4 pairs of scissors3 1/2, has an intense  interest in scissors. I can’t figure out if the scissor fascination is a result of the fact that she is surrounded by a mama, aunt and grandma who are all intensely crafty women, or if it’s because I have 4 pairs of scissors in my flower pot of pens & other miscellany.  My floor is littered with tiny scraps of paper. Strips and triangles and zig-zags and slivers and parallelograms. She is industrious in her snips, narrating who each piece is for, telling a story with each cut.

I wonder at the strength of one’s DNA coupled with one’s environment. Imagine it all coming together to create the next generation’s version of Martha Stewart. Huh.

Written by cr8df8

September 21, 2010 at 11:31 pm

Posted in favorite people

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “I wonder at the strength of one’s DNA coupled with one’s environment.”

    A powerful phrase; made me think of my own niece and suddenly imagined her as the product of hundreds of years of storytellers and creatives (I only know of two generations before mine) and how she once cut out a bunch of shapes in construction paper of different colors and proceeded to make up a little song talking about how each item was cooked and then eaten.

    Mickey

    January 16, 2011 at 3:18 am


Leave a Reply

